Dandelions

111

 

That’s a weird looking picture. Some sort of what-the-hell-hieroglyphic at first.  And it is, in a way most people probably won’t understand. That picture was my Church sermon this morning. A message just for me, as I sat here listening…not talking.

I’m really tired. I have poured myself out into the lives of other people these past few weeks. If I were a battery and you put me in a flashlight, you’d throw me out, type pouring.

This morning as I was listening, I started drawing. Me at the center – and the people I’ve been helping out on the perimeter…lines connecting them back to me with Microsoft-Paint-Paths. And then I heard Him.

Last night as my wife was driving our family home from an appointment, I’d come across something in Pinterest that jumped out at me. I pinned it, and filed it away to look at later. I didn’t understand at the time but God was whispering to me in the car when I saw it and preparing me for this morning. Hiding a clue. A note to a song he was writing.

It’s hard to explain to people, but this is what the conversation that took place between God and I just sounded like:

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

5-1-2016 10-25-42 AM

Michael – I made you to pour out inspiration into others. That’s why your here

“But Lord, it hurts when the relationships don’t stick, or people take what I give them and just leave.”

Open your computer and draw the connections of the lives you are pouring out into.

“Okay, I don’t understand, but sure.”

Do you have everyone on there?

“Yes.”

What does that look like to you?……think.

“…………….it looks like the dandelion yarn sculpture picture I saw last night”.

(silence)

“Ok, here’s what I see. I’m the middle part of the dandelion. You’re the stalk. Everything I need to pour out into the people you’ve put in my life comes through you, out into them….”

(silence)

“Some people stay with me on the core, and others, well, they float away to seed out into others lives when what they needed from you-through-me-has been transferred”.

Yes.

“Lord it hurts sometimes when they don’t stay. When they go.”

I healed a bunch of guys who had leprosy, and only one came back to say thank you.

“Hmmmm.”

(silence)

(silence)

“Lord, remember how I told you that I wanted a “George Bailey” life? Like the end of that movie, “It’s a wonderful life”, how he sees everyone he’s helped over the course of his life?

Yes.

“This is how you’re doing it, isn’t it?”

(silence)

“I love you Dad.”

I love you too. Be my dandelion.
I am the Vine and you are the branches.
Everything you need comes from me.
As you love one another I am spreading through the wind to the end reaches.
I am your thanks. I am your reward. I am enough. I Am.”

“(silence)”

“(silence)”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

He takes seemingly disconnected things, little puzzle pieces that don’t have any connections at first – and “hides” them in my life like a dad hiding clues to a present for his children. Then, He subtly brings them together with one last piece and I find Him there, in the middle of a pile of things that could never be considered “random” in their totality. Clues hidden in space and time come together and I know that He was doing it all for me…to talk to me.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“A dandelion?”

Yes.

“I doesn’t sound too manly, God.”

It has the word “lion” in it…(smiles)

“Funny.”

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dandelions

  1. David says:

    Love it. Great illustration

Leave a Reply

