No, Trump doesn’t know Jesus. Stop.

Today, Sarah Palin – former governor of Alaska and media pariah endorsed Donald Trump for President of the United States. This didn’t shock me. It would take an awful lot to shock me at this point in my life, having seen the political equivalent of “pigs flying” in my lifetime. What did shock me, was this quote harvested from a string of Facebook posts trending as a result of the endorsement,

““Palin’s brand among evangelicals is as gold as the faucets in Trump tower,” said Ralph Reed, the chairman of the Faith and Freedom Coalition. “Endorsements alone don’t guarantee victory, but Palin’s embrace of Trump may turn the fight over the evangelical vote into a war for the soul of the party,” he said.”

If you’re an Evangelical, and you’re considering voting for Donald Trump…you’re all excited about the prospect of pulling that lever, and telling everyone you know on Facebook and Snapchat….I need to metaphorically slap you in your virtual face. Stop it….you’re embarrassing the rest of us. Damn it – cheese and crackers. WTF.

Donald says the Bible is his favorite book.

He also said this,

Well, Rosie O’Donnell’s disgusting, both inside and out. You take a look at her, she’s a slob, she talks like a truck driver … Rosie attacked me personally because I was very happy when her talk show failed … Another thing that failed, and this was a real monster, everybody was suing her, was her magazine. her magazine called Rosie was a total disaster. So I love it, I gloat over it, I think it’s wonderful, because I like to see bad people fail.

… Well, if I were running the view, I’d fire Rosie. I’d look her right in that fat, ugly face of hers and I’d say “Rosie, you’re fired” … We’re all a little chubby, but Rosie’s just worse than most of us. But it’s not just the chubbiness — Rosie is a very unattractive person, both inside and out … Rosie’s a person that’s very lucky to have her girlfriend, and she better be careful or I’ll send one of my friends over to pick up her girlfriend, why would she stay with Rosie if she had another choice?”

It just gets better and better.

Donald said he enjoys “a great relationship with God

He also said this, in regards to a man whose plane was shot down over Vietnam – and forced to live in a box  as a P.O.W. so small he has permanent debilitating injuries (John McCain)

“”He’s not a war hero,” Trump said. “He’s a war hero because he was captured. I like people that weren’t captured, okay? I hate to tell you….

Let’s continue. (clears throat)

Donald Trump said, “I’m leading a very good life…

He also impersonated, mocked, and made fun of a reporter with physical disabilities.

Another reporter – who was wheelchair bound called Trump a “a rodeo clown” in an political opinion piece. Trump said this in response about the man,

I went out, I made a fortune, a big fortune, a tremendous fortune,” Trump told NBC News. “Then I get called by a guy that can’t buy a pair of pants…..?

At this point – I stopped writing this blog post. I have about 30 more examples of things the man said – and did – that are so diametrically opposed to everything the Son of God taught, as to cause me to pause and cease typing. It physically hurts my head to read the crap he’s said, and not once yet apologized for.

FYI, Trump proudly states he’s never asked God for forgiveness in his life, btw. He said,

I try not to make mistakes where I have to ask forgiveness…why do I have to repent or ask for forgiveness, if I am not making mistakes?…I work hard, I’m an honorable person…

(cricket…………..cricket…………..cricket…………)

It was fun for the first few weeks watching him say the things he said…this idea that someone who was an “outsider” was going to change things. I felt that way when Ross Perot came around. When Steve Forbes took a shot at it, I was listening. I even thought Ben Carsen might have had something important to say…maybe even had a shot this time. But in each of those 3 cases though, I could have made a reasonable argument for a possible relationship of those men back to God. They carried themselves in a way and acted as to – at the very least – not embarrass the hell out of me and my faith. Trump calling himself a Christian, was like hearing that Madonna converted to mystical Judaism. That part of your brain developed back in the African Savannah evolved to detect bull**** fires off millions of neurons in direct response to the incoming auditory insanity.  There’s just no way.

Something different…bigger…is going on here, though – and what’s most disturbing is that most of the people who profess to be “Evangelical” are pumping the hysteria wave higher and higher. It’s like some apocalypse zombie movie where the infection spreads, and people lose their (*#&$)(@*#$ minds, one church, one neighborhood at a time. I’ll be honest – it scares me. It’s like going to a movie with all your friends that they wanted you to see, and halfway through it they take off their jackets and they’re all wearing Nazi t-shirts. When the main character makes fun of blacks and Jews, they laugh and look at you as though to say with their eyes, “Isn’t this great!?“.  This is the Trump campaign, I think. Maybe not Nazi stuff – but you get the analogy, right? People I thought were sane – are clearly not. People I thought might be Christians, have me wondering. I take comfort in that though, because Jesus himself said that when it all hit the fan in the end, many of the people who thought they were good, weren’t. Maybe this is the first wave of the last act.

If you’re a self-confessed Evangelical believer in Jesus – as your Lord and Savior – and your’e supporting this guy….please, at the very least – keep it to yourself. Just stop it already. You’re making the stuff we’re supposed to be focused on harder for the rest of us. There wasn’t much credibility in the account to start with after Pat Robertson and Jerry Falwell and Jimmy Swaggart and Jim Baker (omg) – and you’re putting the rest of what’s left on a moral VISA card we won’t be paying off anytime soon.

On behalf of Jesus, women, disabled veterans, handicapped people, women, and women – cut it out. (smack).

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

