I have a daughter

We sat at the previews for Madagascar 3 yesterday. My, my wife, my 2 sons Caleb and Evan, and my daughter Abigail. This was a cartoon. And when the previews rolled, I thought – ok, family friendly nothing heavy here let my guard down we’re safe for now moment.

Nope.

The first preview had live people in it.

The first few words were,

“I grew up in a 100% Christian home”, followed by a picture of a young Katy Perry holding a Jesus sign..

.Image

Then someone else chimed in on the surround sound, somewhere behind the left speaker and said,

“Katy got her first guitar through the CHURCH!”.

Remember all those “downed” guards and defenses? Straight up.

I sat and watched the images and messages that flashed across the screen at that point.

Katy turned to a little girl – my Abbey’s age, who said, “I wanna be you when I grow up…” to which Perry replies, “I wanna be YOU when I grow up!”.

Every person filmed was a “tweener” girl. No one over 12, 13….

I’m in marketing. It’s how I earn my living. I don’t watch the Superbowl for the game. I watch for the commercials.

I stay in the living room to watch the car insurance TV spots, and leave when the regular program is on.

I get brand messaging. And this one was flying straight across the rows to my 10 year old daughter, with no shut down breakers.

Crap.

“She knows what it’s like to be those girls…that are in the audience”….says the next narrator….

Crap.

Picture of little kids hugging Perry like a Snow White at Disney next in the trailer….

Image

Crap.

“I’ve made mistakes……but I don’t regret anything [JOIN HER JOURNEY]”.

Oh man. I’m running out of “craps”.

I got to pay $40 to to sit there and be assaulted by a lie. And now I have to explain to my daughter, why it was a lie…

Katy Perry is not a Christian. Not my words…

One June, Perry graced the cover of Vanity Fair. In the article’s interview she professes that she left her strict religious upbringing behind her after her evangelical minister parents left her without a “childhood”.

She complained that she wasn’t able to listen to secular music, and was taught how Planned Parenthood helped facilitate abortions…and taught that was wrong.

Perry’s mother in response said that she was proud of Katy, but disagreed “with a lot of choices she makes in her career”.

Perry clearly states in the article that her Christian upbringing did nothing but bring her down. Restrict her. And only when she broke free from it’s constraints was she truly able to find personal satisfaction and happiness.

Who helped her get there? Former husband Russell Brand “opened her mind”.

“I come from a very non-accepting family, but I’m very accepting,” Perry says of her current religious beliefs. “Russell is into Hinduism, and I’m not [really] involved in it. He meditates in the morning and the evening; I’m starting to do it more because it really centers me. [But] I just let him be him, and lets me be me.”

“I’ve always been the kid who’s asked ‘Why?’ In my faith, you’re just supposed to have faith. But I was always like … why?” she says. “At this point, I’m just kind of a drifter. I’m open to possibility…. My sponge is so big and wide and I’m soaking everything up and my mind has been radically expanded. Just being around different cultures and people and their opinions and perspectives. Just looking into the sky.”

Go back with me to the beginning of the movie trailer, playing in the deep south of a North Carolina theater, now.

……”CAME FROM A 100% CHRISTIAN FAMILY……….”……………….”GOT HER FIRST GUITAR FROM THE CHURCH”.

See the lie?

Here’s what waits for my daughter, should she choose to “Join Her Journey”….

“Pictures of last night
Ended up online
I’m screwed
Oh well
It’s a blacked out blur
But I’m pretty sure
It ruled
Damn

Last Friday night

Yeah we danced on tabletops
And we took too many shots
Think we kissed but I forgot
Last Friday night
Yeah we maxed our credit cards
And got kicked out of the bar
So we hit the boulevard
Last Friday night
We went streaking in the park
Skinny dipping in the dark
Then had a menage a trois
Last Friday night
Yeah I think we broke the law
Always say we’re gonna stop op, whoa
This Friday night
Do it all again
This Friday night
Do it all again………..” [LAST FRIDAY NIGHT, KATY PERRY]

“This was never the way I planned
Not my intention
I got so brave, drink in hand
Lost my discretion
It’s not what, I’m used to
Just wanna try you on
I’m curious for you
Caught my attention

I kissed a girl and I liked it
The taste of her cherry chapstick
I kissed a girl just to try it
I hope my boyfriend don’t mind it
It felt so wrong
It felt so right
Don’t mean I’m in love tonight
I kissed a girl and I liked it
I liked it………..”      [I KISSED A GIRL, KATY PERRY]

“California girls
We’re unforgettable
Daisy Dukes
Bikinis on top
Sun-kissed skin
So hot
Will melt your popsicle

Sex on a beach
We get sand in our stilletos
We freak
In my jeep
So do the doggie on the stereo” [CALIFORNIA GIRLS, KATY PERRY]

Let’s go all the way tonight
No regrets, just love
We can dance until we die
You and I, we’ll be young forever

You make me
Feel like I’m living a
Teenage dream
The way you turn me on
I can’t sleep
Let’s run away and
Don’t ever look back
Don’t ever look back
My heart stops
When you look at me
Just one touch
Now baby I believe
This is real
So take a chance and
And don’t ever look back
Don’t ever look back.

(Verse)
We drove to Cali and got drunk
On the beach
Got a motel and built a fort
Out of sheets
I finally found you,
My missing puzzle piece
I’m complete        [TEENAGE DREAM, KATY PERRY]

If you keep watching the movie trailer, there’s a 5 year old boy who walks up to a Disney dressed Perry backstage and says, “I want to marry you!”, from his Dad’s arms.

Perry says, “You want to marry me?!!!”

That little kid should talk to Russell Brand.

In US Weekly, sources interviewed told US,

“….the couple always fought, but in the time leading up to the divorce filing, the arguments had gotten more heated, leading to one “massive fight”. “She was like ‘F— you. I’m going to do my own thing.”. Russell replied, ‘Fine, f— you too’, ”

The Daily Mail reported that recovering drug addict Brand didn’t approve of Perry’s friends (like fellow pop star Rihanna). He had reportedly asked her to “tone it down”.

So if you join Perry’s Journey little man….hang on. And don’t sign the pre-nup.

What’s most disturbing to me as a dad, despite the shanghai attack on my faith in front of my family…in spite of the real message of who Perry is “inside” (she says her lyrics tell her listeners who she really is), I now have to tell my 10 year old daughter that she doesn’t have to use her mammary glands to advance her career in life. Because if you’re on Perry’s Journey, they’re everywhere.

If you watch Sesame Street, they were there, next to Elmo.

Image

Then there are the cupcakes….

Image

And the whipped creme….

Image

Did I mention my 12 year old son and 6 year old son were in the audience with me, as my whole family got to go on Perry’s 30 second “Journey”?

I don’t care if you don’t agree with my faith. I don’t.

I don’t agree with the way a lot of people live their lives. And I have respectful conversations with people who want to know why.

But you don’t get to say you follow the same Jesus I do, and tell my daughter hanging her boobs out at a bar while you get hammered til the point you’re having sex in a fountain with another girl and a guy is cool.

You don’t get to tap into the Disney franchise and dress up like Belle or Arial, and tell her kissing Snow White was awesome….after a few beers of courage.

It’s marketing genius actually. I just wonder how many people sat there this weekend and clapped and said, “yaaaaay…..” vs actually caring about Truth.

I have to go now. I have to tell my 10 year old daughter something…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have a daughter

  1. Sandy Elliott says:

    Courage, Mike. I admire you. A real Dad is caring more about your daughter’s soul than being popular. She will remember your take on this. My Dad did not become a Christian until I was 14. I will never forget many of life’s lessons I learned from him, mostly the way he lived his life. Even though I went my own way for awhile, Dad’s loving kindness won me back. You are writing on your children’s slate, so take courage in all you impart. The dividends are unmatcheable.

Leave a Reply

